Dear Readers welcome to Awareness Adda. I am Kesav Kumar one of the Author of the Awareness Adda. We are providing important notes for competitive examinations like IBPS, SBI, RRB and SSC etc.. All these are helpful for getting a good score in your examinations. So keep in touch with us.

            Today article is a short tip to remember the banks and their headquarters in India. It was very difficult to remember all these in the individual but there is a shortcut to remember these things very easily for this you have to remember small things those are given below.

Tip 1: Remember the term “Bank of India”.

            All banks that have “of India” at the end of their name have their headquarters in Mumbai. Let’s see some examples.

  • Bank of India.
  • Central Bank of India
  • Industrial Development Bank of India
  • State Bank of India
  • Union Bank of India
  • Reserve Bank of India
  • Securities and Exchange Board of India.
  • Dena Bank( it may not contains “of India” but its Headquarter is Mumbai”).

            In here above list, all banks have the headquarter is MUMBAI.

Note:             All banks which contain Bank of India headquarter is Mumbai Except “United Bank of India”.

Tip 2: Remember the term “Allahabad and Kolkata people are united“.

            If bank name starts with “United” and its Headquarter is Kolkata.

  • United Bank of India.
  • United Commercial Bank.
  • Allahabad bank.

Tip 3: Remember term “Punjab Mahila in New Delhi“.

            Bank name starts with “Punjab” and its Headquarter is New Delhi.

  • Punjab National Bank.
  • Punjab & Sind Bank.
  • Bharatiya Mahila Bank.
  • Oriental bank of Commerce.(Remember “ON“, O=Oriental, N=New Delhi).

Tip 4: Remember Term” Indian Chennai”.

            If a bank name starts with “Indian”  and its headquarters is “Chennai”.

  • Indian Bank.
  • Indian Overseas Bank.

Tip 5: Remember Term “Vijay Can Bang”.

            Headquarter is Bangalore.

  • Vijaya Bank.
  • Canara Bank.

Tip 6: Individual Banks.

  • Andhra Bank = Hyderabad (old Capital of Andhra Pradesh).
  • Bank of Baroda= Baroda/Vadodara.
  • Bank of Maharashtra=Pune
  • Corporation Bank=Mangaluru.
  • Syndicate Bank= Manipal.

            We almost covered Public Sector banks. in those list RBI and SEBI which are not banks. in next article, we will provide some other shortcut tips. so keep in touch with Awareness Adda. Prepare Well. All The Best.